My next chapter

Posted on July 30, 2013

2



I recently resigned from the Tellabs Foundation. The decision was bittersweet for me, as I have always considered this to be my dream job.

I love the people. I love the work. I love the mission. My skills and passions are well-suited to the field.

But, after 12 years and 54 board meetings, it was time for a change. It was time to get back to one of the things I love to do most: writing.

I’m excited about my new role as a writer and blog editor for the marketing team at Allscripts, a healthcare IT company. I’m learning how technology is helping improve the way we deliver health care in this country.

I’m wading my way through a new set of acronyms and trying to come up to speed with a rapidly changing industry. Perfect for someone who is ready for a new challenge.

Identity crisis

I didn’t make this decision lightly. For 19 years, my career has been firmly rooted in the nonprofit sector.

I struggled with the idea that leaving nonprofits would forever change my trajectory. That is, until I asked myself a few clarifying questions about taking the new job:

  • Do you get to do something you enjoy? (Yes. Storytelling, writing and editing.)
  • Will you work with great people? (Yes. From technical wizards to heroic nurses to fantastic marketers.)
  • Are you contributing to something that makes the world a better place? (Yes. Healthcare technology can save lives.)
  • Do you still have balance in your life? (Yes. For me and my family.)
  • Can you ever return to the nonprofit sector? (Yes. With new and improved skills.)

After a period of self-examination, parts of my life that once seemed inconsistent now make perfect sense. I never saw the connection between getting a History/Sociology degree, fundraising, managing a foundation, corporate social responsibility reporting, and working with clients at a healthcare IT company.

The common thread? I love digging into detail to find and share good stories. Ones that hopefully inspire people.

At the social media crossroads

Alas, my twitter feed and blog have gone dormant. I still haven’t figured out what I should do with them.

It doesn’t seem right to start a new Twitter handle each time my career takes a turn. And there are already enough writers out there blogging about writing.

I know that I want to continue to connect with fellow storytellers — whether they are grantwriters, marketers or bloggers. Until I find my voice and topic, this blog will remain on hiatus.

Have you experienced a similar crossroads? What advice would you give?

Thanks for your support, and I look forward to connecting with you.

Posted in: Uncategorized